Northern New York Newspapers
NNY Business
NNY Living
Tue., Oct. 6
Serving the community of Ogdensburg, New York
Related Stories

M-W Celebrates Range Of Spring Sports At Awards Night

Sports Editor

MADRID - Madrid-Waddington Central School has a long tradition of a small (Class D) school which thinks big when he comes to offering opportunities for its students.
This spring while facing extreme financial problems along with schools all over the country MWCS was able to expand its athletic offerings. By funding a junior varsity baseball and softball teams, M-W athletes competed on nine teams including Canton Girls Lacrosse at the modified and varsity level.
"Our first order of business tonight is to thank the school board and the administration for their vision and ability to fund a JV baseball and softball team to the district's budget," said MW Athletic Director Gary Tischler at Thursday evening's MWCS Spring Sports Awards.
"Very few schools our size can offer three levels of baseball and softball and our athletes competed on nine different teams. We had 142 athletes start the spring season including seven playing girls lacrosse at Canton and only two or three left their teams. And we had 19 NAC All-Academic award winners."
Girls-Boys Track: The final M-W athletes in action are pentathlete Brom Steinburg and hurdlers Tyler Jaquith and Shelby MacIntosh who will compete at the state meet this weekend. M-W Girls T-F Coach Larry LaMere was attending a sectional chairpersons meeting at the state meet on Thursday, so Boys T-F Coach Mike Zagrobelny presented over a joint track-field recognition ceremony. A ceremony which honored NAC All-Academic qualifiers in Brom Steinburg, Kody Sharlow, Will O'Bryan, Jacob McNamara, Colin McNamara, Megan McGee, Shelby MacIntosh, Lauren Sharpe and Julie Sovie.
Earning special team awards were: Jennie King and Ken Johnson as the Rookies of the Year, Shelby MacIntosh, Zach Marcellus and Kody Sharlow as Most Valuable Performers and Megan McGee, Connor Maskel and Connor Loomis as the recipients of Coaches Awards.
"We had a great overall year highlighted by boys coming within one point of a 6-4 record. We have a nice corps of performers in the middle grades but we must replace some good seniors," said Coach Zagrobelny.
Canton Girls Lacrosse: As a three-year starter and team captain Brooke Knight was honored as an All-NAC selection for the Golden Bears' varsity team which reached the Section 10 Class C Semi-Finals. Sierra Knight was honored as an NAC All-Academic selection.
Modified Coach Melanie Knight was on hand to recognize the efforts of Cassaundra McKnight, Morgan Beeson, Mary Young, Danielle Jensen and 17-goal scorer Tessa Knight for their efforts in a program best 14-2-1 record.
Golf: Coaches Aaron Jones and Bill Gotsch honored a young team for tripling last year's win total and for personal improvement throughout the Jacket ranks. "We were basically a JV team this year and this group as the potential to make a run at the division title in the future," said Coach Jones who presented the following awards: Kyle Bent - Best Stroke Average, Jeff Mott - Most Improved Player, Kameryn Armstrong - Coaches Award and Taylor Lenny - Rookie of the Year.
Lenny provided the shotmaking highlight of the season at the sectionals when she eagled the second hole at Partridge Run from 110 yards out.
Baseball: Coach Justin Richards thanked his team for making his first year at the Yellowjackets' helm very memorable.
"We missed the playoffs by just one game but we had some nice wins. Especially beating Brushton-Moira who we hadn't beaten in six or seven years," said Coach Richards who presented the Coaches Award to Curtis Lanning, the Golden Glove Award to Kyle Lawrence and Alex Brock and the MVP Award to Brock who played several positions and battled .527.
Brock also represented M-W on the NAC East All-NAC team. Tyler Anson received M-W's NAC Sportsmanship Award and Justin Pierce and Lanning qualified for NAC All-Academic Awards.
Softball: Coach Tim Dashnaw spoke of a season of ups and downs (8-6 NAC East, 11-7 overall) and cited his Lady Jackets for a strong finish which was stopped by a 4-2 loss to Harrisville in the Section 10 Class D semi-finals. Coach Dashnaw presented Senior Awards to Kelsey Dashnaw, Shay Merrick and Megan Barney; the Most Improved Player Award to Kristin Miller and the Golden Glove Award to Jenna Cryderman.
Barney and Olivia Blackmore received All-NAC East Awards, Dashnaw received M-W's NAC Sportsmanship Award and Ashley Beldock, Jena Cryderman, Meghan Gabri and Caitlyn Maskell earned NAC All-Academic Awards.
JV Baseball: Mike Dinam commended his team for their courageous stick-to-itness in face of playing the bulk of their schedule against the largest schools in the section. He honored Jarren Harbour as the Most Improved Player, Alex Baxter with the Coaches Award and Jonas Pandit and James Hunt as the Most Valuable Players.
JV Softball: Coaches Lisa Flack and Michelle Weaver thanked the players on MW's first JV Softball team for producing a 6-4 record. Honored with Coaches Awards were: Laurie King, Katie Tiernan, Taylor Marcellus and Logan Barkley.
Modified Baseball: Coach Dave Bailey called his team one of distinct personality and character which made consistent improvement adjusting to a major change and in scale and scope moving from the youth leagues to the dimensions of high school baseball.
Eighth graders were: Colin Peacock, Zach Brock, T.J. Gagnon, Nick Vallance, William Hayes, Mike Cummings, Jacob Matthie and Chris Fayer. Seventh graders included: Brandon Vallance, Mike Thew, Brandon Vice, Alvin Odendahl, Liam Miller, Luke Miller, Harrison VanBuren, Austin Lanning and Dakota Matthie.
Modified Softball: Coach Buffy Gabri recognized her 9-5 team for its hitting prowess which produced 194 runs on the season and for an outstanding record of placing 15 of its 18 members on the honor roll. Coach Gabri thanked volunteer coach Steve Pryce for his efforts and her manager Sarah Nacarri.
The Lady Jackets were composed of Kaitlyn Dominy, Desiree Pryce, Allison Fobare, Emily Murphy, Taylor Harris, Nichole Brothers, Cassidy Scott, Amelia Bailey. Kayleigh Field, Mariah Patenaude, Sam Dugan, Alyssa Ryan, Dia Richards, Brittani Dawley, Ashleigh Brady, Autumn Beckstead and Tessia Sabourin.        

Commenting rules:
  1. Stick to the topic of the article/letter/editorial.
  2. When responding to issues raised by other commenters, do not engage in personal attacks or name-calling.
  3. Comments that include profanity/obscenities or are libelous in nature will be removed without warning.
Violators' commenting privileges may be revoked indefinitely. By commenting you agree to our full Terms of Use.
Syracuse Football Tickets Giveaway
Connect with Us
OGD on FacebookOGD on Twitter