Northern New York Newspapers
Watertown Daily Times
The Journal
Daily Courier-Observer
NNY Business
NNY Living
Malone Telegram
Thu., Apr. 17
Serving the community of Ogdensburg, New York
Related Stories

"Chairman's committee" announced

print this article
e-mail this article

After a week of barnstorming the state announcing regional economic development councils (a syllable-heavy way of saying local leader pow-wows trying to create jobs), Gov. Andrew Cuomo's office has announced the "chairman's committee," the sort of grand poobah council that will help regions work together, solve disputes and take in feedback.

Julie Suarez, the director of public policy for the Farm Bureau of New York, is perhaps the most familiar name on the list to north country-ites. Frequent news release quote maven Brian Sampson of Unshackle Upstate also made the state-wide cut.

Here's the full list:

Laura Anglin, President, Commission on Independent Colleges and Universities

Nancy Zimpher, Chancellor, State University of New York

Ellis Rubinstein, President & CEO, NY Academy of Sciences

Julie Suarez, Director of Public Policy, NYS Farm Bureau

Antonio M. Perez, Chairman & CEO, Eastman Kodak Company

Bill Thompson, Chair of M/WBE Task Force

Denis Hughes, President, NYS AFL-CIO

Edward Malloy, President, Building & Construction Trades Council

Heather Briccetti, Acting President & CEO, The Business Council

Brian McMahon, Executive Director, NYS Economic Development Council

Brian Sampson, Executive Director, Unshackle Upstate

Michael P. Durant New York State Director, National Federation of Independent Businesses

Jan Marie Chesterton, IOM President, New York State Hospitality and Tourism Association

Connect with Us
OGD on FacebookOGD on Twitter
Thursday 's Covers
Sports cover
Our Community cover
Reader Rewards
Reader Rewards