Northern New York Newspapers
NNY Buisness
NNY Living
Wed., Jul. 23
Serving the community of Ogdensburg, New York
Related Stories

Massena wins 30th O’Neill Tournament

print this article
e-mail this article

MASSENA - Massena picked a perfect time to shake season-long scoring problems on Saturday night.

Scoring four unanswered goals the 3-2-4 Raiders downed previously unbeaten Parishville-Hopkinton, 4-2 to win the 30th edition of the their own Bill O’Neill Memorial Tournament.

Robert Cameron jump-started the Massena offense by scoring from Jesus Hernandez to create a 1-1 halftime tie and went on to earn the Scott Shambo Memorial MVP Award.

“Robert Cameron made a strong run to get the ball behind the goalie which really sparked us. He got hurt a little bit on the play but he really played hard in the second half,” said Massena Coach Pat Henrie.

“He is a great team leader. We moved some people around tonight and it worked.”

Cameron was joined on the All-Tournament Team by teammates Dave Phillips, Dan Elman and Joey LaBelle; Joey Jacot, Wyatt Snell and Parker Measheaw of P-H, Brady Mitchell and Zach Smith of Salmon River which recorded its first win of the season in defeating Hermon-DeKalb 4-0 in the consolation game and Macauley Snell and Steven Gilbert of H-D.

Phillips scored the game-winning goal in the championship and set up an insurance tally by Anthony Cortese and Elman scored unassisted.

Logan Johns scored a pair of unassisted goals for P-H. Ian Wilson posted three shots for Massena and Parker Measheaw collected 11 stops for P-H.

Salmon River 4 - Hermon-DeKalb 0:Brady Mitchell assisted on three goals as the Shamrocks defeated Hermon-DeKalb (2-6).

Naylen Laffin, Josh Hynes, Antoine Domino and Ryan Thomas scored goals for the Shamrocks (1-4-2) and Zach Smith made seven saves for the shutout.

Connect with Us
OGD on FacebookOGD on Twitter
Tuesday 's Covers
Sports cover
Our Community cover