Northern New York Newspapers
NNY Business
NNY Living
Thu., Oct. 8
Serving the community of Ogdensburg, New York

Incumbents returned to office in St. Lawrence County


Incumbents were swept back into office Tuesday in local contested races in St. Lawrence County.

Unofficial results were:


In the race for two seats on the village Board of Trustees, Republican incumbent Mary Ann Ashley was the top vote-getter with 830 votes. She was followed closely for the second seat by political newcomer Daniel J. McDonnell, with 805 votes. Republican Michael E. Dalton, who also was seeking election for the first time, came in third with 770 votes.

Ms. Ashley said she was gratified by the preliminary result.

“Obviously I am flattered that voters have put their confidence in me for a second term,” she said. “I have worked hard for the first two years. I’m not done learning.”

There were two contested races in the town of Canton.

Jesse C. Coburn, a Democrat who left the village board when he moved outside of the village, was elected to the Town Council with 1,571 votes. He was challenged by Republican Daniel E. Martin, a former member of the village board, who received 1,298 votes.

Cathleen E. O’Horo, a Republican incumbent, won another term as town justice, with 1,594 votes.

Democrat Greg Storie received 1,265 votes.


In the race for three two-year seats on the village board, Republican incumbents Charles W. Newvine and R. Nelson Lawrence were returned to office. Mr. Newvine received 677 votes and Mr. Lawrence 636 votes. Political newcomer Lawrence E. Woodrow, who ran as an independent, received 165 votes.

Mr. Lawrence said he was pleased with the results.

“I just want to thank my supporters and people who didn’t vote for me as well,” he said. “I’m just going to try to represent them all.”

Mayor Ronald P. McDougall, who was unopposed, had the most votes of any candidate, receiving 765 votes.

Shelly Simons-Washburn, who was running unopposed for the remaining year on an unexpired village board term, received 649 votes.


In the race for the vacant town justice position, unofficial results put John F. Ceresoli on top, with 174 votes. Joan K. Mason received 104 votes.


Anya A. Tendler was the apparent winner of the town justice seat, with 199 votes. There were 172 write-in votes. It was not known whether all of the write-ins were for a single person.


Village voters overwhelmingly chose to stay with Trustees Francis J. Carvel and Albert C. “Herb” Deshaies, over Republican challenger DeWitt G. Forbes and write-in candidate David H. Romigh, also a Republican. Massena voters cast 2,110 ballots for Mr. Carvel, 2,003 for Mr. Deshaies, 1,073 for Mr. Forbes and 248 for Mr. Romigh.

The District 5 results do not include all votes cast because a digital memory card was left in a voting machine, containing some ballots that had yet to be counted late Tuesday.

Mr. Deshaies said his and Mr. Carvel’s victories are a gain for the village.

“This is a small town; these are our neighbors, and you’ve got to work together,” Mr. Deshaies said. “If someone poses a problem, the solution has got to be for the betterment of the entire community.”

Mr. Forbes pledged to run for office again, saying, “I’ve only started.”

Johnson Newspapers reporter Tim Fenster contributed to this report.

Commenting rules:
  1. Stick to the topic of the article/letter/editorial.
  2. When responding to issues raised by other commenters, do not engage in personal attacks or name-calling.
  3. Comments that include profanity/obscenities or are libelous in nature will be removed without warning.
Violators' commenting privileges may be revoked indefinitely. By commenting you agree to our full Terms of Use.
Syracuse Football Tickets Giveaway
Connect with Us
OGD on FacebookOGD on Twitter