Northern New York Newspapers
NNY Business
NNY Living
Tue., Sep. 1
Serving the community of Ogdensburg, New York
Related Stories

OFA Booters cited for highest achievements


In reference of the term scholar-athlete, OFA Boys Soccer Coach Matt Morley spoke of the highest achievements at Tuesday’s team awards banquet at the Ogdensburg Elks Lodge.

The Blue Devils won their program’s first outright Section 10 Class B Championship since 1991 (shared title with Potsdam in 2009 but lost in a shootout for the right to advance to the state tournament) and advanced to the state tournament where they lost to Ichabod Crane which went to share the state title with Livonia. The Devils produced 14 NAC All-Academic Award qualifiers and a 21-player New York State Scholar-Athlete Team Award contingent.

The NYS Scholar-Athlete contingent was composed of Martin Arquitt, Chris Axtell, Garrett Calton, Andrew Colburn, Pat Cosmo, Justin Feldt, Andrew Guimond, Conor Hannan, Pat LaComb, Peyton Lalone, Mike Mallot, Alec Manke, Jed McRoberts, Brandon Mullin, Aaron Peo, Nate Peo, Matt Piercey, David Prudhomme, Gian Rufa, Jacob Sias and Matt Snodgrass.

All-Academic Awards went to Arquitt, Calton, Cosmo, Hannan, LaComb, Mallott, Manke, McRoberts, Sias, Aaron and Nate Peo, Prudhomme, Rufa and Snodgrass. Freshmen are not eligible to receive the NAC awards.

“This is one of the smartest groups that I have been associated with,” said Coach Morley of his team which finished with an 8-6-4 record.

“And over the last three weeks of the season we really put it together on the field and our defense really stepped it up.”

All-NAC Central Division awards went to first teammers in striker Gian Rufa and stopper Dave Prudhomme, second teamers in sweeper Alec Manke and halfback Pat Cosmo and the team’s Sportsmanship Award recipient in halfback Matt Piercey.

Coach Morley concluded the night’s presentations with the announcement of the special team awards.

Gian Rufa, a two-time team scoring leader, received the Outstanding Offensive Player Award and Alec Manke received the Outstanding Defensive Player Award.

Brandon Mullin received George Mattison Award for outstanding leadership, Nate Peo received the David Kuca Memorial Award for extreme dedication to the sport, Pat Cosmo received the Tom Seymour Memorial Award for his willingness and ability to meet the most formidable challenges, David Prudhomme received the Mike Hazen Memorial Award for consistent excellence and goaltender Jacob Sias, who posted six shutouts, and Matt Piercey received the Coach’s Awards.

Rufa led the team with nine goals and two assists followed by Conor Hannan with six goals and five assists, team assist leader Peyton Lalone who scored four goals to go along with seven assists, Nate Peo (6 goals, 2 assists), Matt Piercey (2 goals, 4 assists), Dave Prudhomme (2 goals, 3 assists), Pat Cosmo (2 goals, 2 assists), Andrew Guimond (2 goals), Dillon Binion (1 goal, 1 assist), Matt Snodgrass (2 assists), Alec Manke (1 goal), Seth Pinkerton (2 assists) and Justin Feldt (1 assist).

Commenting rules:
  1. Stick to the topic of the article/letter/editorial.
  2. When responding to issues raised by other commenters, do not engage in personal attacks or name-calling.
  3. Comments that include profanity/obscenities or are libelous in nature will be removed without warning.
Violators' commenting privileges may be revoked indefinitely. By commenting you agree to our full Terms of Use.
Syracuse Football Tickets Giveaway
Connect with Us
OGD on FacebookOGD on Twitter