Northern New York Newspapers
NNY Business
NNY Living
Sat., Aug. 29
Serving the community of Ogdensburg, New York
Related Stories

OMHA Wins Hazen Tourney Titles


The Ogdensburg Minor Hockey Association produced three of the four divisional champions as the 23rd Annual Mike Hazen Memorial Hockey Tournament concluded at the Edgar Newell Memorial Golden Dome on Sunday.

Games were also played at the Richard Lockwood Arena throughout the weekend. In championship game action, the Squirts nipped Tri-Town 2-1, the Pee Wees topped Alex Bay 4-2 and the Midgets prevailed 4-2 over Osgoode-Rideau, Ont.

Alex Bay nipped North Franklin 3-2 in the Bantam finale.


In the highly contested Squirt finals, Drew Mills scored the winning goal at 8:43 of the third period unassisted after setting up Harrison Wert for a second period goal. Logan Stantie scored the lone Tri-Town goal in the third period off an assist from Torran Robertson. Kelson Hooper backstopped the win with a brilliant 22-save performance.

Coaches Paul Wert, Aaron Charlton, Paul O’Donnell, Jason Demers and Ernie Jeneault are really proud of the way the players dug down deep and came together as a team to win the championship. Coach Demers was cited by his fellow coaches for aiding the development of the brilliant goaltending in the tourney.

Cited for stellar defensive efforts were: Nolan O’Donnell, Rosie Jeneault and Timmy McLellan that kept Tri-Town from tying the championship game.

Athens 4 - Ogdensburg 2: Ogdensburg lost a well competed and physical game to Athens to start the tournament.

Excellent defense was played by Mark Barr, Nick Demers, Rosie Jeneault, Keighan Sias, Rodger Premo and Nolan O’Donnell. Kelson Hooper made many big saves as Ogdensburg was badly outshot. Strong forward efforts came from Derek Barr, Mason Morley, Holden Woods, Kaleb Spears, Gerard Powers, Drew Mills, Karson LaRose and Kennedy Sloan. Harrison Wert and Timmy McLellan scored power play goals for Ogdensburg.

Ogdensburg 2 - Tri-Town 1: Nolan O’Donnell and Timmy McLellan scored goals in a total team effort which contained a big Tri-Town team. Kelson Hooper was called on again to shut the door in goal

Ogdensburg def Alex Bay: The third game saw scoring from the whole team and excellent goaltending from Nick Ghize and London Jackson as Ogdensburg controlled a younger Alex Bay team to advance to the title game.


The local Pee Wees scored two goals in the first period and two goals in the third period and Jacob Ball posted 20 saves in goal with 10 stops in the second period. Ball stopped 41 of the 43 shots he faced on the weekend and Conner Smith stopped 31 of the 32 shots he faced. Excellent defensive play throughout the weekend came from Brayden Amo, Olivia McRoberts, Stephen Morley, Garrett Piercey, Loren Putman, Nicholas Sholette, and Jake VanHouse

Two-way offensive play was contributed by: Blake Amo, Alex Barrett, Garrett Bell, Justin Brabant, Jordan Fennessy, Chayton Massic, Austin McRoberts, Julian Rufa and Coby Ryan. Zachary Thomas, Jonathan Trathen and Dakota Woods. Rob Wood, Todd Amo, Dan Brabant, Scott Sholette, and Derek VanHouse coached the Pee Wees that went undefeated in the tourney with a 3-1 win over the Brockville Junior Braves, a 4-0 win over Alex Bay and an 8-0 shutout over Smith Falls. Austin McRoberts tallied two goals to bookend the winning offense in the championship game and Alex Barrett scored one goal and set up a tally by Coby Ryan. Mason Gorman scored two goals for Alexandria Bay.

Ogd 3 - Brockville 1: The Braves opened the game’s scoring with a tally by Cameron Cosgrove from Ty Stadig and Coby Ryan tied the score at 1-1 off an Alex Barrett assist. Barrett netted the eventual game-winner from Brayden Amo and Coby Ryan and Justin Brabant netted an unassisted insurance marker.

Ogd 4 - Alex Bay 0: The locals struck for three second period goals as Blake Amo, Austin McRoberts and Garrett Bell found the range and Zachary Thomas, Julian Rufa, Chayton Massic and Joanathan Trathen picked up assists. Coby Ryan scored from Austin McRoberts in the third period.

Ogd 8 - Smith Falls 0: The locals continued to display a well-balanced offense with nine players figuring in the scoring. Jonathan Trathen scored two goals, Austin McRoberts netted one goal with one assist and Dakota Woods passed out two assists.

Single goals came from Brayden Amo, Jordan Fennessy, Chayton Massic, Coby Ryan and Jake VanHouse and Nicholas Sholette and Olivia McRoberts passed out assists.


The Midgets rebounded from a 2-1 loss to Brockville in their third game to secure the championship game victory. Bob Jock, Scott Sholette and Scott Boyer coached the squad which opened with a 4-2 win over Osgoode-Rideau and downed North Franklin 3-1 in its second game. In the championship game Ogdensburg scored three third-period goals, with an empty netter with 50 seconds to play, to secure division honors and Gaetan Pothier handled 14 of his 31 saves in the final period.

David Middlemiss scored the final two goals of the game and Andrew Putman passed out two assists in the third period. Zach Barr scored the second Ogdensburg goal and also assisted Izac Sovie to a goal in the first period.

Pothier went the distance in goal in all four games backed by strong defense anchored by Jared Berg, David Middlemiss, Andrew Putman, Jacob Sholette and Matthew Sholette. Fine two-way front line play was provided by Zach Barr, Dylan Jock, Mark Morrow, Austin Putman, Izac Sovie, Joshua Trathen and Hayden Woods.

Ogdensburg 3 - Osgoode-Rideau 1: After Osgoode-Rideau opened the scoring Austin Putman, Joshua Trathen and Mark Morrow scored off assists from Mark Morrow, Dylan Jock, Izac Sovie and Jacob Sholette. Gaetan Pothier stopped 24 shots in goal backstopping the win.

Ogdensburg 3 - North Franklin 1: Joshua Trathen and Zach Barr each delivered one goal and one assist in the victory where Mark Morrow scored a single goal and Izac Sovie passed out an assist to back a 29-save effort by Gaetan Pothier.

Brockville 2 - Ogdensburg 1: Zach Barr scored the local goal for the locals and Gaetan Pothier stopped 13 shots in goal.

Raffle Drawn

The Ogdensburg Minor Hockey Association drew the winning tickets for its recent fund-raising raffle. The $1000 first prize went to Jen Putman, Jen Jones won the second prize of $500 and Greg Fredericks and Cindy Hill each won $250.

Commenting rules:
  1. Stick to the topic of the article/letter/editorial.
  2. When responding to issues raised by other commenters, do not engage in personal attacks or name-calling.
  3. Comments that include profanity/obscenities or are libelous in nature will be removed without warning.
Violators' commenting privileges may be revoked indefinitely. By commenting you agree to our full Terms of Use.
Syracuse Football Tickets Giveaway
Connect with Us
OGD on FacebookOGD on Twitter