Northern New York Newspapers
NNY Business
NNY Living
Thu., Oct. 8
Serving the community of Ogdensburg, New York
Related Stories

OFA Hockey team feted


Quality wins and quality people made for a very memorable OFA Hockey season according to Coaches Jon Frederick and Matt Morley.

A season which ended too soon for all involved when the Blue Devils dropped a 2-1 decision to Norwood-Norfolk in the D2 semi-finals of the Section 10 Tournament. OFA finished at 10-7-4 and ranked 15th in the state’s D2 poll after being ranked as high as ninth in the regular season.

“That loss really hurt but that is the way it can go in a single elimination playoffs. But we played with the best and beat the best,” said Coach Frederick who used this weekend’s New York State Final Four in Utica as a point of reference.

“You take look at the Final Four. We beat and tied St. Lawrence Central which is the number one D2 team in the state. We beat Massena and we beat McQuaid in a shootout at our Brian Wade Tournament and they are playing in the D1 semis. And we played John Jay tough and they are playing St. Lawrence.”

Along with the big wins on the ice, the Devils also led Section 10 with nine All-Academic Award recipients and compiled a 15-player New York State Scholar-Athlete Team contingent.

Receiving NAC All-Academic Awards were: Burke Comeau 95.69, Nolan Rufa 93.80, Zach Barr 89.27, Austin Morley-Sloan 92.09, David Prudhome 93.92, Andrew Putman 93.67, Gian Rufa 90.59, DJ Swan 88.69 and Jon Tayler 91.40.

Joining the award recipients on the New York State Scholar Athlete team were: Aidan Putman 96, Jared Barr 88.31, Jacob Awan 87.93, Andrew Roddy 84.15, Brandon Mullin 89 and Dylan Jock 90.15.

The Devil coaches also recognized their six seniors (Jake Garrison, Gian Rufa, Joe Giglio, Brandon Mullin, Drew Costigan, D.J. Swan) for being involved in four winning seasons and over 50 wins while competing against some the toughest teams in the state.

Four of those seniors were recognized with special team awards. Mullin, the NAC D2 MVP, was honored as the Team MVP. Rufa, a second team All-NAC D2 selection, received the Blue Devil Coaches’ Award.

Giglio received the Bob Hynes Memorial Award and Garrison received the Outstanding Offensive Player Award.

Sophomore Dave Prudhomme, who earned the WMSA Division 2 Goalie of the Year Award, was honored as the Outstanding Defensive Player.

Swan received OFA’s Section 10 Sportsmanship Award.

Commenting rules:
  1. Stick to the topic of the article/letter/editorial.
  2. When responding to issues raised by other commenters, do not engage in personal attacks or name-calling.
  3. Comments that include profanity/obscenities or are libelous in nature will be removed without warning.
Violators' commenting privileges may be revoked indefinitely. By commenting you agree to our full Terms of Use.
Syracuse Football Tickets Giveaway
Connect with Us
OGD on FacebookOGD on Twitter