Northern New York Newspapers
NNY Business
NNY Living
Tue., Oct. 6
Serving the community of Ogdensburg, New York
Related Stories

Ogdensburg Squirts win tri-town tourney


The Ogdensburg Maple Leaf won the Tri-Town Squirt Tournament after a competitive weekend of hockey Feb 16-17th. The tournament included teams from Canton, North Franklin, Norwood-Norfolk, and Tri-Town.

The Medicine Place sponsored the team for the tournament and is tanked for for its support and for veing a wonderful community asset. The team is coached by Paul O’Donnell and Ernie Jeneault.

Ogdensburg 2 Tri-Town 2: Nolan O’Donnell scored both goals and was awarded the Hustler Award for Ogdensburg in the opening game.

Ogdensburg 2 Norwood-Norfolk 1: Goaltender Kelson Hooper was awarded the Hustler award holding a relentless N-N team to only one goal on 19 shots in a well-played game.

Ogdensburg 5 Canton 2: Several Ogdensburg skaters were involved in the scoring andHarrison Wert was awarded the Hustler award after scoring a clutch break away goal to secure the win for the Leafs.

Ogdensburg 3 North Franklin 2: Ogdensburg battled back after being down 2-1 in the third period to beat a skilled North Franklin squad. Timmy McLellan scored a short-handed goal in the third period that ignited the team to victory.

Championship Game

Ogdensburg 3 Tri-Town 2: The most exciting game of the tournament saw Ogdensburg win a double overtime thriller 3-2. Ogdensburg was down 2-1 with under two minutes to play in the third period when Drew Mills put away a backhand shot assisted by Nolan O’Donnell. Rosie Jeneault was awarded the Hustler Award after scoring the game winning goal by taking the puck end-to-end and wristing a shot for victory. Kelson Hooper recorded the win in net with 14 of his 31 saves coming in the third peroid and seven in overtime.

The Ogdensburg Squirt offense is featured fine two-way play from Drew Mills, Harrison Wert, Timmy McLellan, Holden Woods, Rodger Premo, Kennedy Sloan, Kaleb Spears, Gerard Powers, Karson LaRose, and Mason Morley.

The defensive unit featured Nick Demers, Rosie Jeneault, Nolan O’Donnell and Keighan Sias, Mark Barr, and Derek Barr.

The goaltenders are: Kelson Hooper, London Jackson, and Nick Ghize.

Commenting rules:
  1. Stick to the topic of the article/letter/editorial.
  2. When responding to issues raised by other commenters, do not engage in personal attacks or name-calling.
  3. Comments that include profanity/obscenities or are libelous in nature will be removed without warning.
Violators' commenting privileges may be revoked indefinitely. By commenting you agree to our full Terms of Use.
Syracuse Football Tickets Giveaway
Connect with Us
OGD on FacebookOGD on Twitter