Northern New York Newspapers
Watertown Daily Times
The Journal
Daily Courier-Observer
NNY Business
NNY Living
Malone Telegram
Sun., Jul. 13
Serving the community of Ogdensburg, New York
Related Stories

Croghan residents re-elect trustees by write-in votes

print this article
e-mail this article

CROGHAN — Village residents re-elected two trustees by write-in votes Tuesday.

Trustees Dawn Ashline and David Schneider each received 20 votes to earn four-year seats.

Twenty-one village residents cast ballots in the election, with two other people also receiving single write-in votes for trustee.

No residents, including either incumbent, filed nominating petitions to get their names on the ballot.

In the only other Lewis County village election Tuesday, Copenhagen Mayor Kenneth R. Clarke earned another two-year term with 62 votes, while Mark Souva and Trustee Gerald Snyder were elected to two-year board seats with 60 and 57 votes, respectively.

Seventy-eight Copenhagen residents voted, but five ballots were ruled invalid.

There were five write-in votes for mayor, including one for Mickey Mouse, while Carol Doyle received 10 of 15 write-in votes for trustee.

Connect with Us
OGD on FacebookOGD on Twitter
Thursday 's Covers
Sports cover
Our Community cover