Northern New York Newspapers
NNY Business
NNY Living
Fri., Oct. 9
Serving the community of Ogdensburg, New York
Related Stories

SLU’s Plimpton named LL Pitcher of Year


CANTON — St. Lawrence University sophomore Kyle Plimpton was named the Liberty League Softball Pitcher of the Year on Thursday. Plimpton went 3-2 with a 1.78 earned-run average in conference play and struck out 51. Joining Plimpton on the first team was Canton native Natasha Bell, a junior.

Plimpton, the daughter of Ogdensburg native Mark Plimpton and the granddaughter of Mr. and Mrs. Bill Plimpton og Ogdensburg, earned All-Conference first team honors for the second straight year as she leads the league in ERA and strikeouts. The Williamsville, NY native threw one-hitters against RIT and Rochester, and reached double figures in strikeouts seven times this season. Plimpton, who already owns program records for single-season strikeouts, victories and saves, continued the trend into her sophomore season as she now holds the career strikeout record, shutouts and complete games pitched in a season records.

Bell, who returned to the team in her junior year after taking last season off, worked her way into the starting lineup as the designated player. She is currently batting .385 (35-for-91) and has recorded a hit in 21 of 33 games this season. She has an on-base percentage of .404 and has scored 18 runs, batted in 11 runs and stolen 11 bases. Elizabeth McGinley and Leslie Stratton made the second team. Chelsea Cavellier, Rebecca Allen and Aisha O’Connor made honorable mention.

n SLU’s Josh Robinson, Brian Wilber, Cam Scullen, Davey Hovey and Pierson Fowler were chosen for the first team on the all-Liberty League men’s lacrosse squad.

Jack Roberts made the second team and Jack Nuland, Mac Johnson, Tucker Garfield and Jeremy Vautour earned honorable-mention status.

n SUNY Potsdam’s Brady Fremont was a first-team selection to the all-SUNYAC men’s lacrosse squad. Derek Frost and Stefan Sloma made the second team and Watertown natives Rob Kunz and Jeff Love were chosen for honorable mention.

n Brigid Hurley and Tasha Cornell-Roberts of the SLU women’s lacrosse team earned first-team status on the all-Liberty League squad.

Holly Noyes and Adden Cunningham made the second team, and Regina Rogers and Michaela Maybee were chosen for honorable mention.

Commenting rules:
  1. Stick to the topic of the article/letter/editorial.
  2. When responding to issues raised by other commenters, do not engage in personal attacks or name-calling.
  3. Comments that include profanity/obscenities or are libelous in nature will be removed without warning.
Violators' commenting privileges may be revoked indefinitely. By commenting you agree to our full Terms of Use.
Syracuse Football Tickets Giveaway
Connect with Us
OGD on FacebookOGD on Twitter