Northern New York Newspapers
NNY Business
NNY Living
Mon., Oct. 5
Serving the community of Ogdensburg, New York
Related Stories

Massena High School recognizes top performers during academic banquet


MASSENA - In a sign that the end of the school year is on the horizon, Massena Central High School recognized its top students Thursday night during the 33rd annual academic banquet.

More than 130 students from all four classes received awards and, of those, 16 were seniors who were being recognized for the fourth time during their high school career.

They included Brianna Barley, Robert Cameron, Lindy Chapman, Dylan Deshane, Michael Henrie, Marissa Manley, Margaret Mauch, Sarah Murphy, Elizabeth Peets, Isaiah Perry, David Phillips, Molli Richards, Zachary Robert, Brooke Russell, Tyler Sunday and Dominique Valancius.

Principal Patrick Farrand said those who were recognized had earned their place at Thursday night’s banquet.

“Massena High School always has great pride. When it comes to academics, it takes a lot of work to get here,” he said.

As May rolls around, with June graduation following closely behind, Mr. Farrand said schedules get heavier and more difficult to manage. But the 136 students who stepped forward to receive their awards had managed their time wisely, thanks in part to families and teachers who helped them along the way.

“I think if they’re sitting here tonight, they followed your directions,” he said.

Unlike sports, he said, there isn’t an audience applauding the students on as they excel in their academics. But that doesn’t make it any less important.

“Academics isn’t a spectator sport. It’s just one of those things that happens in a building,” Mr. Farrand said. “This is their moment to shine. This is an opportunity to say nice job.”

All together, 36 seniors, 26 juniors, 41 sophomores and 33 freshmen were recognized during the ceremony.

For the seniors, the honorees were Brianna Barley, Robert Cameron, Kristen Canales, Lindy Chapman, Dylan Deshane, Danielle Fleury, Zachary Fregoe, Devin Gardner, MIchael Henrie, Darienne Judware, Joseph LaBelle, McKenna LaGarry, Sara Dawn Lamica, Natalie LePage, Sarah Lynch, Marissa Manley, Margaret Mauch, Sarah Murphy, Kennedy Norris, Emily Pease, Elizabeth Peets, Isaiah Perry, Natalie Pesold, David Phillips, Molli Richards, Zachary Robert, Stephanie Rogers, Brooke Russell, John Shirley, Jaclyn Spinner, Tyler Sunday, Sarah Tyo, Dominique Valancius, Anthony Yang, Mackenzie Young and Kaleigh Zappia.

Juniors from the Class of 2014 who were recognized were Baylee Carroll, Shannon Casey, Rory Corcoran, Courtney Croasdaile, Daniel Elman, Claire Englert, Astrid Fabri, Hunter Francis, Samuel Gerber, Jenelle Gilmer, Meghan Greco, Audrey Hayes, Jesse Lawrence, Carlie Leary, Crystal Nevin, Tristan Nichols, Emma O’Connell, Lucy Pang, Connor Paquin, Kassidy Ross, Daykota Snyder, Peter Skomsky, Amber Strable, Jacqueline Tulip, Samanntha Villnave and Megan Wells.

Sophomores who received awards were Andrew Brush, McKay Burley, Annie Casey, Haley Coggeshall, Quinton Colter, Schuyler Conto, Kyleigh Dailey, Paige Denney, Hannah Donalis, Tyler Fefee, Chandler Flaro, Jonathan Gustafson, Jason Hammill, Emily Hurlbut, Mia Jermano, Silken Kershner, Zachary Kozsan, Brody LeCuyer, Jenna LePage, Mackenzie LePage, Felicity Love, William MacCuaig, Courtney Manley, Robert Matthews, Catherine Miller, Nicole Morgan, John Noreau, Marina Oakes, Jennifer Orlando, Elizabeth Palmer, Kalie Peets, Nicholas Prescott, Alanna Pyke, Allison Richards, Annika Sadvoss, Kurstin Stowell, Kendrick Swamp, Abby Treers, Timothy VanTassel, Meghan Villnave and Emily Wilmshurst.

The 33 freshmen who were recognized were Alex Batten, Brittney Boyden, Nicole Davis, Raechel Davis, Zachary Davis, Kate Derouchie, Madalyn Dillabough, Neil Farbotnik, Tyler Flynn, Jarrid Gardner, William Gerber, Emily Hall, Kirstin Henry, Cashlynn Jaggers, Bailey LaBarge, Makenzie LaBrake, Abby LaClair, Shaunessy LaClair, Jacalyn Lamica, Sierra Lanning, Alexander Lippassaar, Ethan Marcello, Ethan Marlof, Carlee Marsh, Abigail Matthews, Nicholas McKeel, Caitlin McMahon, Olivia Nemier, Dillon Otto, Laura Siddon, Ladeline Thibault, Robert Todd and Maria Wood.

The top male and female of each class were also recognized. They were freshmen Abigail Matthews and Ethan Marcello, sophomores Alanna Pyke and Jason Hammill, juniors Emma O’Connell and Daniel Elman, and seniors Sarah Murphy and Robert Cameron.

Sarah Murphy was also recognized as the Class of 2013 valedictorian, and Molli Richards was recognized as the class salutatorian.

Commenting rules:
  1. Stick to the topic of the article/letter/editorial.
  2. When responding to issues raised by other commenters, do not engage in personal attacks or name-calling.
  3. Comments that include profanity/obscenities or are libelous in nature will be removed without warning.
Violators' commenting privileges may be revoked indefinitely. By commenting you agree to our full Terms of Use.
Syracuse Football Tickets Giveaway
Connect with Us
OGD on FacebookOGD on Twitter