Northern New York Newspapers
Watertown Daily Times
The Journal
Daily Courier-Observer
NNY Business
NNY Living
Malone Telegram
Sat., Jul. 12
Serving the community of Ogdensburg, New York
Related Stories

Ward claims first asphalt ESS race at Evans Mills

print this article
e-mail this article

Kevin Ward made history Saturday night at the Evans Mills Speedway as he won the first Empire Super Sprints race on an asphalt track surface. Matt Tanner finished second and Cory Sparks took third. Antwerp’s Jeff Cook finished fifth.

The track’s regular race-night results were not available Sunday night.

In other races, north country late model drivers Tim Fuller and Tim McCreadie finished ninth and 11th, respectively, in the United Midwest Promoters (UMP) race at the Eldora Speedway in Rossburg, Ohio. Scott Bloomquist of Morresburg, Tenn., won the race for the sixth time. Bloomquist and his race team collected $100,000 for winning the 100-lap race.

Lee Gill of LaFargeville won the 358-modified feature Saturday night at the Brockville (Ontario) Motor Speedway.

Dale Planck captured the big-block modified feature at the Fulton Speedway, and Lou Cicconi won the super modified feature, while Dalton Doyle led the field across the finish line in the small-block modified race.

Friday scheduled races at Can-Am Motorsports Park in LaFargeville and Mohawk International Raceway in Akwesasne were rained out.

Connect with Us
OGD on FacebookOGD on Twitter
Thursday 's Covers
Sports cover
Our Community cover