Northern New York Newspapers
NNY Business
NNY Living
Wed., Oct. 7
Serving the community of Ogdensburg, New York
Related Stories

Political candidates file petitions in St. Lawrence County


CANTON — St. Lawrence County Legislator Stephen M. Putman, D-Canton, the only county lawmaker who will run this fall, will face opposition from a political newcomer.

There will be competition among other countywide races, based on party designating petitions that were filed with the Board of Elections by Thursday’s deadline, but those candidates had already announced their intentions to run.

Mr. Putman will be challenged by William L. Fobare, who lives near Rensselaer Falls in the town of Canton. Mr. Fobare, who is running on the Republican and Conservative lines, was unavailable for comment regarding his decision to run for the legislature.

All other county legislators are not due to face election until next year.

Mr. Putman stepped down from the board so he could enter the state retirement system as he retired as superintendent of St. Lawrence Central School District.

The Board of Legislators appointed Mr. Putman to his vacated seat Monday after a committee of the remaining Democratic legislators submitted his name to fill the vacancy.

The appointment ends Jan. 1. Mr. Putman also filed a nominating petition to run for his seat.

In the race for district attorney, incumbent Nicole M. Duvé is running on the Democratic and Working Families Party lines.

She is challenged by Mary E. Rain on the Republican, Conservative and Independence lines.

The other countywide race is for two county coroners. Candidates are incumbent June H. Wood, who will appear on the Conservative, Independence and Republican lines; fellow Republicans Steven M. Cary and Kevin J. Crosby, who will also appear on the Conservative line; and Democrat Eric Warner.

Candidates for races could still surface when independent nominating petitions are filed and caucuses take place.

The following filed petitions in town supervisor races:

Canton: Supervisor, David T. Button, C,R.

Clare: Supervisor, Francis W. Sharpstene, R; R. Todd Demers, R.

Clifton: Supervisor, Charles R. Hooven, R.

Colton: Supervisor, Dennis B. Bulger, R.

DeKalb: Supervisor, John M. Frary, R.

DePeyster: Supervisor, Audrey M. Cienki, R.

Edwards: Supervisor, Sharee D. Lanphear, R.

Fine: Supervisor, Mark C. Hall, R.

Gouverneur: Supervisor, Robert R. Ritchie, R; William Chambers, C,R.

Hammond: Supervisor, Ronald W. Bertram, R.

Hopkinton: Supervisor, unexpired term, Susan M. Wood, R.

Lawrence: Supervisor, Victor E. Burnett, D.

Lisbon: Supervisor, James W. Armstrong, R.

Macomb: Supervisor, George A. Blatchley, R; Steve Burke, R.

Madrid: Supervisor, Anthony A. Cooper, D; Wiliam E. Hull, R.

Morristown: Supervisor, Russell B. Lawrence III, C, R; Frank K. Putman, I, R.

Norfolk: Supervisor, Charles A. Pernice, D.

Oswegatchie: Supervisor, Alfred J. Nichols, R.

Parishville: Supervisor, Jerry G. Moore, R.

Piercefield: Supervisor, Neil Pickering, D.

Pitcairn: Supervisor, Clyde “Sam” Frank Jr., R.

Potsdam: Council, James A. Grant Jr., D; Judith Rich, D.

Rossie: Supervisor, Wayne A. Knight, R.

Russell: Supervisor, Lloyd A. Mayville, R.

Waddington: Supervisor, Sandy Wright, D, R; Mark Scott, R.

And in the village of Gouverneur: Mayor, Ronald P. McDougall, R.

Commenting rules:
  1. Stick to the topic of the article/letter/editorial.
  2. When responding to issues raised by other commenters, do not engage in personal attacks or name-calling.
  3. Comments that include profanity/obscenities or are libelous in nature will be removed without warning.
Violators' commenting privileges may be revoked indefinitely. By commenting you agree to our full Terms of Use.
Syracuse Football Tickets Giveaway
Connect with Us
OGD on FacebookOGD on Twitter