Northern New York Newspapers
NNY Business
NNY Living
Mon., Oct. 5
Serving the community of Ogdensburg, New York
Related Stories

Familiar names score feature wins at Mohawk Speedway


AWESASNE - The racing action at Mohawk International Speedway was fast Friday nigh.

Feature racing was run off very quickly due to the lack of yellow flags, but it was still some familiar faces getting the job done once again.

In the 358 Modifieds Gilles Godard and Casey Swamp led the field to the green and Godard raced out to the early lead over Swamp, Jordan McCreadie, Mario Clair and Larry Welling. It didn’t take long for the first yellow to fly as Lance Willix, Jeff Sykes and Chris Raabe tangled in turn 2. On the restart Godard held on to the lead but Mario Clair was charging to the front. Clair had a fast car and was able to wrestle the lead away on lap 5 leaving Godard Billy Dunn, Larry Welling and Brian McDonald to battle it out in the top five. Clair built up over a straight away advantage but three-time winner Billy Dunn was on a mission. After Godard slowed in turn 1 Dunn slipped on by for second and tried to run down the leader. Dunn changed his line on the speedway as he moved to the top side of the track and immediately began gaining ground. At the halfway point Dunn was able to close in and take the lead on the outside from Clair with Carey Terrance, McDonald and Raabe rounding out the top five. Larry Welling’s great night came to an end as he broke while running fifth, bringing out the yellow for the last time. On the final restart Dunn pulled away leaving Clair and the rest of the field behind. Dunn had everything going his way on this night, as he went on to claim his fourth win in the last five weeks over Clair, McDonald, Chris Raabe recovered from the early race spin to finish fourth. Carey Terrance rounded out the top five.

The Sportsman division was all about the trophy and check on this night. With the Seaway GM and Performance Series in Granby a special non points show was held. Louie Jackson Jr. was looking to take full advantage on this night as he took the lead at the drop of the green flag. Jackson lead the opening four laps of the 20-lap affair with Wyatt Mullin, Corey Winters, Neal Provost and Nolan Swamp completing the top five. On Lap 5 Swamp, Ryan Helm and Robert Delormier came together in turn 2 bringing out the first yellow flag. On the restart Jackson continued his march to victory lane but the man on the charge was two-time and defending track champion Dylan Evoy. After getting to second just before the halfway point he used the patience game to reel in Jackson. The leaders headed into lapped traffic with seven to go as Jackson still led the way over Evoy, Winter, Mullin and Delormier. On lap 14 Evoy was able to navigate traffic perfectly and take away the number one spot leaving Jackson to deal with the lapped cars. Once in front Evoy showed his muscle as he pulled away by a straightaway to claim his fourth win of the season over Jackson, Corey Winters 2013 debut resulted in a third place finish. Robert Delormier and Zach Arquiett rounded out the top five.

In Pro Stock action Jocelyn Roy was looking to get to victory lane for the first time at MIR and showed his strength early on by jumping out to the early race lead. Roy would pull out to a four-car length lead with Ryan Stabler, Eugene Tarbell, Roch Aubin and PJ Peters rounding out the top five. Stabler was able to clear all traffic and begin his pursuit of Roy just before the halfway point. On lap 9, Roy began to lose the handling on his car as he slipped up off the bottom of the speedway in turn 4. Stabler was on his bumper and with five to go Stabler made the move in turn 3 to grab the lead. Behind him defending track champion PJ Peters started to go to work. He made his way to the second spot with three to go and quickly reel in Stabler. On the final lap Peters came within a car length of the leader but it wasn’t enough as Stabler took his first ever Mohawk win in the caution free race. Peters settled for second, with Stephane Lebrun, Jocelyn Roy and Roch Aubin rounding out the top five.

In Mod Lite action, Scott Waldrif started on the pole and jumped out to the early race lead. Waldrif battled former track champion Mathieu Robinson for the lead in the early going until Joel Hargrave made a bid for the top spot on lap 3 just before the first caution flag flew. On the restart Hargrave jumped out to a strong lead over Waldrif, Robinson, Harley Brown and Dan Reif. With the field battling hard nobody was catching Hargrave on this night, as he became the first two-time winner in the Mod Lite division. Waldrif settled for second with Harley Brown, Mathieu Robinson and Dan Reif completing the top five.

The Bandits were set to go for their 10-lap feature event. Jean Marc Larose has been the man to beat all year and he flexed his muscle early by taking the lead into turn 1 from his fourth starting spot. Larose raced out to a half straightaway lead by the halfway point with Justin Desrosiers and Darryl Mitchell giving chase from second and third. With no help from the caution flag nobody was catching Larose as he kept the win streak going with his Fifth of the year. Darryl Mitchell was able to grab second and Desrosiers crossed in third.

For more information, visit the track website at

Commenting rules:
  1. Stick to the topic of the article/letter/editorial.
  2. When responding to issues raised by other commenters, do not engage in personal attacks or name-calling.
  3. Comments that include profanity/obscenities or are libelous in nature will be removed without warning.
Violators' commenting privileges may be revoked indefinitely. By commenting you agree to our full Terms of Use.
Syracuse Football Tickets Giveaway
Connect with Us
OGD on FacebookOGD on Twitter