Northern New York Newspapers
NNY Business
NNY Living
Tue., Oct. 6
Serving the community of Ogdensburg, New York
Related Stories

Lewis towns, villages have numerous contested races


LOWVILLE — Lewis County will have a bevy of contested town and village races this fall, including a three-way race for two Lowville town judge seats.

Justice Asa J. Holbrook has filed Republican and Conservative petitions, while retired state police investigator William R. Kiernan and Village Judge Patricia H. Yarina both have filed petitions for those two parties, as well as ones for the Democratic and Independence parties.

The trio will face off in GOP and Conservative primaries in September.

Both four-year seats are up for election simultaneously after Republican Judge John J. Youngs inadvertently failed to run for re-election last November and was removed from office when the error was discovered earlier this year.

Democrat Robert J. Mullin also is challenging Republican Town Council members Paul R. Virkler and Ruth I. Laribee in Lowville.

In the only contested town supervisor race in the county, Robin Grunert, Independence Party, has challenged New Bremen Democratic Supervisor Peter J. Keys. Republican Councilman David L. Becker, fellow Republican Joseph E. Aucter and Democrat Donald Getman are running for two council seats, while Republican Judge Charles W. Stevens is being challenged by Democrat Valerie J. Getman.

In Croghan, Deanna K. Hoch is running as a Republican and Democrat against Republican assessor Amos A. Noftsier, requiring a GOP primary.

In Denmark, Barbara Weiler and Diane Mahar will face off in a Republican primary for town clerk, while Democrat Prudence L. Kunert, a longtime deputy clerk who is serving as clerk following the retirement of Rita J. Woodruff, also is running for the seat.

In Greig, Republicans Jennifer Fox and Thomas P. Gunn, a town councilman, are both running for clerk, requiring a primary.

In Lewis, Democratic Highway Superintendent Alan J. Tanner is being challenged by Republican Lynn Frank Platt.

In Leyden, Councilmen Andrew Millick, a Democrat, and Verle E. Yelton, a Republican, are being challenged by Democrat/Conservative Steven M. Fox.

In Lyonsdale, Democratic Highway Superintendent Matthew J. Farr is being challenged by fellow Democrat Randall Baslow and Republicans Terry L. Swiernik and Theodore Mooney, requiring both Republican and Democratic primaries. And Republican council members William L. Marmon and Nancy O’Brien-Dailey are being challenged by fellow Republicans David Butts and John L. Smith, requiring a GOP primary; Mr. Butts also will hold the Conservative line.

In Martinsburg, Republican Highway Superintendent Tyler J. Jones is being challenged by fellow Republican Craig A. Forney, requiring a primary. One also will be needed for council, where Republican incumbent Michael J. McGrath and fellow Republicans E. Frank Kogut and Jared J. Thisse are running for two seats.

In Osceola, three Republicans — Amanda Sterling, Arlene Mosch and Vickie Carpinelli — will face off in a primary for two council seats, while Democratic Councilwoman Colleen Burns is also running for re-election. Republicans JoAnne A. Conklin and Timothy J. Davis Sr. will also primary to fill a council vacancy. Republican Highway Superintendent Michael J. Wilk will be challenged by fellow Republicans Kevin Searles and Richard N. Meagher, requiring a primary.

In Pinckney, council members Donald H. Vincent, a Republican, and Sandra L. Dunn, an Independence Party member, will be challenged by Republican Donald H. Vincent.

In Turin, Councilwomen Joanne D’Ambrosi, a Democrat, and Linda M. Galarneau, a Republican, are being challenged by Republican Paul Dickinson.

In the village of Constableville, Republicans David Alguire, Mark Sullivan and Mary Wilton will face off in a Republican primary for two council seats.

And, in the village of Port Leyden, Independence Party member Frederick McCauley, Democrat Janice Belmont and Republican Lyn R. Ripp are running for two council seats.

Commenting rules:
  1. Stick to the topic of the article/letter/editorial.
  2. When responding to issues raised by other commenters, do not engage in personal attacks or name-calling.
  3. Comments that include profanity/obscenities or are libelous in nature will be removed without warning.
Violators' commenting privileges may be revoked indefinitely. By commenting you agree to our full Terms of Use.
Syracuse Football Tickets Giveaway
Connect with Us
OGD on FacebookOGD on Twitter