Northern New York Newspapers
NNY Business
NNY Living
Fri., Oct. 9
Serving the community of Ogdensburg, New York
Related Stories

Lewis County to have numerous primary elections


LOWVILLE — Lewis County will have a plethora of primary elections on Tuesday, including ones involving six county legislative seats.

In District 1, Legislator Philip C. Hathway, R-Harrisville, will face Jeffrey T. Christman in a Republican primary.

In District 3, Craig P. Brennan will face Gerald S. Snyder in a GOP primary. Mr. Snyder holds no other party line and will have to win to secure a spot on the November general election ballot.

In District 4, Thomas J. Schantz and Bryan D. Moser will face off in both Republican and Conservative primaries. Mr. Schantz will have to win at least one to secure a spot in the general election.

In District 7, a three-way GOP primarily will be held among Jeffrey F. Beyer, Lee Hinkleman and Gregory M. Kulzer.

In District 8, Republican Larry L. Dolhof and Independence Party member Duane C. DeLair will square off in a Conservative primary.

And in District 10, Legislator Jerry H. King, R-West Leyden, and John A. Healt are both seeking the Republican line.

Conservatives throughout the county will be selecting delegates for their fall judicial convention. Candidates for delegate are Carl S. Golas Jr. of Lowville and Todd D. Collins of Camden, while the choice for alternate is between Nancy Williams of Harrisville and Vicki L. Witzigman of Camden.

The lone Democratic primary on the ballot pits town of Lyonsdale Highway Superintendent Matthew J. Farr against Randall J. Baslow. However, Mr. Farr has announced that he no longer wants the job. The town highway race also will feature a Republican primary between Theodore D. Mooney and Terry L. Swiernik.

Lyonsdale also will have a four-way GOP primary for two council seats among councilors William L. Marmon and Nancy O’Brien-Dailey and challengers John L. Smith and David Butts.

The town of Lowville also has three-way Republican and Conservative primaries for two open town judge seats. Candidates are incumbent Asa J. Holbrook, Village Judge Patricia Yarina and retired state police investigator William Kiernan.

Several other Lewis County towns and villages also will have Republican primaries:

n Croghan — Councilmen Bernard “Chip” Monnat and John A. Farney and challenger Chris Hoch will compete for two spots, while Assessor Amos A. Noftsier will face Deanna K. Hoch.

n Denmark — Barbara Weiler and Diane M. Mahar will face off for clerk.

n Greig — Jennifer Fox and Thomas P. Gunn will compete for clerk/collector.

nMartinsburg — Councilman Michael McGrath and challengers E. Frank Kogut and Jared J. Thisse will face off for two spots, while Highway Superintendent Tyler J. Jones will be challenged by Craig A. Forney.

n Osceola — Clerk Helen Hall is being challenged by Julie M. Painter, while Highway Superintendent Michael J. Wilk is being challenged by Kevin Searles and Richard Meagher. Three Republican candidates — Vickie A. Carpinelli, Amanda J. Sterling and JoAnne A. Conklin — will compete for two spots on the November ballot for council seats, while Timothy J. Davis Sr. and Arlene Mosch both are seeking to fill a council vacancy.

n Constableville — Trustees David Alguire and Mark Sullivan and challenger Mary Wilton are facing off for two seats.

Sample ballots are available on the Lewis County website at

Commenting rules:
  1. Stick to the topic of the article/letter/editorial.
  2. When responding to issues raised by other commenters, do not engage in personal attacks or name-calling.
  3. Comments that include profanity/obscenities or are libelous in nature will be removed without warning.
Violators' commenting privileges may be revoked indefinitely. By commenting you agree to our full Terms of Use.
Syracuse Football Tickets Giveaway
Connect with Us
OGD on FacebookOGD on Twitter