Northern New York Newspapers
NNY Business
NNY Living
Fri., Oct. 9
Serving the community of Ogdensburg, New York
Related Stories

SUNY Potsdam set to begin search for new president


POTSDAM - SUNY Potsdam is prepared to move forward with the search for its 16th president, as the members of the cSUNY POtsollege’s Presidential Search Committee have all been appointed and elected.

The committee’s obligation will officially begin on Mondaywhen SUNY Chancellor Nancy L. Zimpher is expected to give the committee its charge.

SUNY Potsdam College Council Chair June F. O’Neill will chair the Presidential Search Committee.

“On behalf of the College Council, I would like to thank Chancellor Zimpher and the SUNY Board of Trustees for giving SUNY Potsdam the permission to start searching for our next president,” O’Neill said. “I look forward to working with this broad cross-section of campus constituents, who all share a sense of dedication to this institution.”

In accordance with the SUNY Presidential Search Guidelines, O’Neill has appointed three other representatives from the College Council, one from the SUNY Potsdam Alumni Association, the academic dean, a Potsdam College Foundation trustee, the professional or support staff member and the student representative.

The SUNY Potsdam Faculty Senate recently held elections for the six faculty representatives to the committee, following a campus vote. Chancellor Zimpher appointed the current or former SUNY president representative, and the liaison to the search committee.

The SUNY Potsdam Presidential Search Committee is as follows:

Voting members:

■ June O’Neill, Hon. ‘99: Chair

■ Molly Clough ‘92: College Council

■ Bryan Hughes: College Council

■ Harold Johnson: College Council

■ John Ettling: SUNY Plattsburgh President

■ Michael Sitton: Crane School of Music Dean

■ Romeyn Prescott ‘92: Alumni Association/Director of Academic Computing

■ Mary Helander ‘83: Foundation Board

■ Roberta Greene ‘09: Support Staff/Secretary for Geology and Physics

■ Sara Behuniak ‘14: Student Government Association President

■ David Curry: Professor of Philosophy

■ Carleen Graham: Professor of Opera and Music Theatre

■ Lynn Hall: Associate Professor of Literacy Education

■ Thomas Nesbitt: Director of Admissions/Adjunct Instructor

■ Jan Trybula: Associate Professor of Biology/Faculty Senate Chair

■ Louise Tyo ‘00: Director of Student and Family Transitions/Adjunct Instructor

Non-voting members:

■ Bonny Boice: Chancellor’s liaison

■ Carol Rourke ‘81: Support staff to committee

The SUNY Potsdam College Council has hired consultants Jessica Kozloff and Tom Fitch from the firm Academic Search to assist the Presidential Search Committee. It is a requirement of the SUNY presidential search guidelines that the College Council retain a search firm.

The two consultants from Academic Search will hold the first of several meetings with campus constituents at 4 p.m. Tuesday in the Raymond Hall eighth floor dining room. This open forum will be an opportunity for the campus community to express thoughts about what qualifications the next president of SUNY Potsdam should have.

The presidential search is expected to run through the spring 2014 semester.

Former SUNY Potsdam President Dr. John F. Schwaller, Hon. ‘13, announced in November 2012 that he would step down from his position in the spring. In March 2013, Interim President Dr. Dennis L. Hefner, the retired president of SUNY Fredonia, was appointed by the SUNY Board of Trustees to lead the campus during this transition period.

Commenting rules:
  1. Stick to the topic of the article/letter/editorial.
  2. When responding to issues raised by other commenters, do not engage in personal attacks or name-calling.
  3. Comments that include profanity/obscenities or are libelous in nature will be removed without warning.
Violators' commenting privileges may be revoked indefinitely. By commenting you agree to our full Terms of Use.
Syracuse Football Tickets Giveaway
Connect with Us
OGD on FacebookOGD on Twitter