Northern New York Newspapers
NNY Business
NNY Living
Wed., Sep. 17
Serving the community of Ogdensburg, New York
Related Stories

One legislative race too close to call in Lewis County

print this article
e-mail this article

LOWVILLE — One Lewis County legislative race won’t be determined until absentee ballots are opened next week, while another very clearly ousted a two-term incumbent.

The three-way race among Republicans Gregory M. Kulzer, Jeffrey F. Beyer and C. Lee Hinkleman, in District 7, left Mr. Beyer out of contention with only 127 votes, while Mr. Kulzer was in the lead with 247 votes over Mr. Hinkleman’s 241. There were 31 absentee ballots issued, with 22 received as of Tuesday.

In District 6, Republican Andrea Moroughan had more than double the ballots cast for Paul M. Stanford, D-Watson, winning 424-208.

Mrs. Moroughan is one of seven new faces on the board come January.

In District 5, Richard A. Chartrand will be the only Democrat on the board after defeating Thomas E. Jaconski, 399-351.

In District 4, Bryan D. Moser received 659 votes. While all write-in ballots had not been verified, only 42 were received, making Thomas J. Schantz unable to win.

In District 8, Lawrence L. Dolhof beat Duane C. DeLair, 388-314. Mr. Dolhof isn’t a new face; he previously had served as legislator from 2000 to 2003.

In District 9, Neil H. Pepper ran unopposed to replace Jack T. Bush, R-Brantingham.

In District 3, Craig P. Brennan, R-Denmark, who was appointed in September following the death of Charles R. Fanning, was unopposed.

In District 10, Jerry H. King, R-West Leyden, defeated independent John A. Healt, 361-204, making him the only contested incumbent to win.

In District 1, Philip C. Hathway, R-Harrisville, and in District 2, Michael A. Tabolt, R-Croghan, were the only unopposed incumbents.

Connect with Us
OGD on FacebookOGD on Twitter
Tuesday 's Covers