Northern New York Newspapers
NNY Business
NNY Living
Thu., Oct. 8
Serving the community of Ogdensburg, New York

St. Lawrence County voters decide contested races


CANTON - A high turnout of voters on Tuesday overwhelmingly decided it was time to elect a new mayor in the village of Canton.

By more than 2 to1, Trustee Mary Ann Ashley, a Republican endorsed by Democrats, captured the mayor’s seat from incumbent David P. Curry, a Republican.

Ms. Ashley garnered 628 votes to Mr. Curry’s 289, according to unofficial results from the St. Lawrence County Board of Elections. At a gathering of supporters, Ms. Ashley said she and trustee candidates Carol Pynchon and Brooke James-Rouse were successful at reaching out to voters.

“We are committed, dedicated and focused on the people of this village,” Ms. Ashley said. “We got that message out.”

Mr. Curry said he was surprised he lost by such a wide margin, but speculated that his opponent was able to draw votes from both Democrats and Republicans.

“I think people want a change,” he said. “I’m glad it’s over, and I hope they do the right things for the village.”

Two open trustee seats on the village board were won by Ms. Pynchon, a Democrat, with 519 votes, and incumbent Michael E. Dalton, a Republican, with 469 votes. They were followed by candidates Ms. James-Rouse with 445 votes and Republican Nicholas E. Kocher, who had 326 votes.

As mayor, Ms. Ashley has the authority to appoint her replacement on the village board for a one-year term.

In the Canton town highway superintendent’s race, incumbent Terry L. Billings, a Republican, held his position with 941 votes, outpolling Democrat challenger Edward J. McCarthy who received 863 votes.

The only St. Lawrence County legislative race was for District 9 in Canton, where incumbent Democrat Stephen M. Putman won re-election with 623 votes. Republican challenger William L. Fobare received 408 votes.

Incumbent June H. Wood received the most votes in the three-way race for two county coroner positions with a tally of 11,341 ballots. The other coroner’s post went to Kevin J. Crosby, who received 9,945 votes. Democrat Eric Warner came in third with 7,876 votes.

Unofficial results from other contested races were:

n Brasher: Democratic Highway Superintendent Larry Hewlett won re-election with 392 votes. He was challenged by independent Duane Black who received 198 votes.

n Colton: Republican Highway Superintendent Kevin S. Hawley was re-elected with 395 votes. He was challenged by Conservative Brion J. Stowe, who received 29 votes.

n Clare: Republican Supervisor Francis W. Sharpstene was the top vote-getter for his position. He received 28 votes while independents R. Todd Demers had 18 votes and James E. Whitmarsh Sr. had 17 votes. In the race for highway superintendent, the unofficial tally showed a tie between Richard L. Hance, a Republican, and Paul B. Colton, the independent incumbent, with each receiving 26 votes. Independent Michael Johnson received 15 votes.

n Clifton: Republican Sharon A. Snider won the town clerk’s position with 135 votes. Democrat Karen Soltau received 108 votes. In the race for highway superintendent, Kelly J. Smith II, a Republican, held onto his job with 183 votes. Democrat David B. Baker had 57 votes and independent Paul D. Crane received 12 votes.

n DePeyster: Republican Town Clerk Michelle Sheppard held onto her job, receiving 105 votes. She was challenged by Democrat Susan Matheson, who received 82 votes. Republican Highway Superintendent William J. MacKay also retained his position, receiving 109 votes. Challengers Robert Chambers, an independent, had 45 votes, and Democrat Mark Kelley had 43 votes. In the race for two seats on the council, Republican incumbent Richard A. Pray was on top with 144 votes, followed by fellow incumbent Thomas M. MacKay, who had 98 votes. Democrat Kenneth Chambers received 85 votes.

n Fine: Democratic Highway Superintendent Roger S. Folsom won re-election with 256 votes. He was opposed by independent Daniel E. Kerr Sr., who had 96 votes.

n Fowler: Republican Assessor Timothy J. Geer was re-elected with 324 votes. He was opposed by independent Sherry L. Geer, who received 136 votes.

n Hopkinton: The results for the two-year unexpired term for highway superintendent was close. Democrat Stephen A. Green had 146 votes and Republican Francis Frank Barney had 144 votes heading into the recount and opening of final absentee ballots.

n Parishville: Supervisor Jerry G. Moore, a Republican, won re-election with 348 votes. Challenger James P. Engels, an independent, received 47 votes.

n Pierrepont: The top vote-getters in the three-way race for two council seats were Roger Murray, a Republican who received 398 votes, and Dahl R. McCormick, a Republican who had 337 votes. Independent William J. Mein received 250 votes.

n Pitcairn: Nancy J. McIntosh, the Democratic highway superintendent, was re-elected with 177 votes. She was opposed by Republican Howard E. Ray, who had 95 votes. In the race for two council seats, Democrat Paul D. Jackson had 130 votes. He was followed by Jerry McIntosh, with 92 votes, Republican Brian E. Schrodt, with 85 votes, and Republican Ann Hall, with 82 votes

Staff writers Susan Mende and Victor Barbosa contributed to this report.

Commenting rules:
  1. Stick to the topic of the article/letter/editorial.
  2. When responding to issues raised by other commenters, do not engage in personal attacks or name-calling.
  3. Comments that include profanity/obscenities or are libelous in nature will be removed without warning.
Violators' commenting privileges may be revoked indefinitely. By commenting you agree to our full Terms of Use.
Syracuse Football Tickets Giveaway
Connect with Us
OGD on FacebookOGD on Twitter