Northern New York Newspapers
NNY Business
NNY Living
Mon., Jun. 29
Serving the community of Ogdensburg, New York
Related Stories

Wright wins Waddington Superintendent post


Waddington has a new town supervisor.

Sandy R. Wright, who held both the Democratic and Republican party lines, narrowly defeated incumbent Mark Scott, who ran on a third party line, by 29 votes.

Mrs. Wright received 430 votes over Supervisor Mark Scott who had 401 votes.

Mr. Scott has served one, four year term in office.

Neither Mrs. Wright nor Mr. Scott could be reached for comment on the results of the election Tuesday night.

Democrat Robert Dalton, with 480 votes, was the apparent winner over Republican David L. Putney, with 349 votes, for highway superintendent.

Republican Shaun L. Prentice and Democrat Patricia A. Van Patten are Waddington’s newest town council members after defeating Democrat incumbent Shirley Robinson in a three-way race.

Mrs. Van Patten had 572 votes, Mr. Prentice had 463 votes, and Mrs. Robinson had 451 votes.

The unofficial results from the county Board of Elections for the other contested races in the area are as follows:

DeKalb: In the race for two seats on the Town Council, incumbents Jody Hamilton, a Democrat, and Republican Michael B. Livingston won re-election. Mr. Hamilton had 220 votes and Mr. Livingston 223 votes. Challengers Rae Ann Davis, a Democrat, received 164 votes and Conservative candidate Edward F. Newcombe Jr. had 121 votes.

Edwards: In the race for two seats on the council, the winners were Republican Dianne L. Hurley, with 134 votes, and Democrat Mark L. Rice, with 108 votes. Republican Stephen J. Taylor received 90 votes and independent Rita F. Thornton had 36 votes.

Gouverneur: Republican Supervisor Robert R. Ritchie won re-election with 498 votes. He faced a challenge from Conservative William Chambers, who had 214 votes. In the three-way race for two council seats, incumbent Republicans Eldon B. Conklin had 519 votes and Harold E. Lacey had 497 votes. Challenger Steven D. Jackson, a Conservative, received 274 votes. In the race for two seats on the village board, incumbent Republicans Roger A. LaPierre, with 267 votes, and Shelly Simons Washburn, with 266 votes, won re-election. Democrat Birney D. Kellogg received 214 votes.

Hammond: Democratic Town Clerk Darlene Amyot was re-elected with 224 votes. She was challenged by Republican Robyn L. Gilmer, who had 133 votes.

Lisbon: Republican Supervisor James W. Armstrong received 627 to win re-election over independent Patrick J. Green, who had 91 votes. Highway Superintendent Timothy G. Dow, a Republican, was also re-elected, with 624 votes, over independent Alan L. Livingstone Jr., who had 92 votes. Republican Justice Philip D. Fonda won re-election with 637 votes. He was challenged by RL W. Green, who had 82 votes. In the three-way race for two seats on the council, Gary J. Jarvis received 607 votes. Ruth CO. Green had 156 votes but there were 386 write-in votes.

Macomb: Republican Supervisor George A. Blatchley received 135 votes to win re-election. He was challenged by Democrat Steve Burke, a council member who had 72 votes. In the race for two council seats, incumbent Wayne C. Gates, an independent, had 121 votes. Incumbent Ryan P. Schermerhorn, an independent, had 106 votes. Republican James E. Rainville received 90 votes. In the race for a two-year unexpired term council seat, the apparent winner was Republican Brett W. Martin, over Democrat Susan Bell, who received 88 votes.

Madrid: Democrat Anthony A. Cooper was the winner of the supervisor’s race, with 275 votes, over Republican Bill Hull, who received 211 votes. Democratic Highway Superintendent William R. Barkley Jr. won re-election with 333 votes. He was challenged by Republican Steven G. Rookey, who received 166 votes. Council seats went to Republican incumbent Timothy Thisse, who received 329 votes and Democrat Garry A. Wells, who had 270 votes. Republican Jesse Barton received 216 votes.

Morristown: Democratic Supervisor Frank K. Putman was re-elected with 436 votes. He was challenged by Russell B. Lawrence III, who is stepping down as coroner. Mr. Lawrence received 164 votes. In the race for justice, Lisa J. Whitmarsh had 393 votes over G. Thomas Bertrand Jr., who received 220 votes. In the race for two council seats, WM. Howard Warren had 472 votes. Republican Shawn R. Macaulay had 391 votes. Conservative Michael L. Bogart received 261 votes.

Russell: Democratic Supervisor Robert Best came out on top with 378 votes over Republican challenger Lloyd A. Mayville, who received 152 votes. In the three-way race for highway superintendent, incumbent Democrat Larry White was the winner with 352 votes. Republican Kendrick Butch Grimshaw had 165 votes and independent Gregory Meilleur had 35 votes. Republican Terry Friot took first place in the race for justice with 266 votes, besting Democratic incumbent Margaret K. Pike, who had 234 votes. In the race for two council seats, Democrats Edward Dave Whiteford had 347 votes and Sandra Burnham received 308 votes. Republican Christopher Kelley received 247 votes.

Johnson Newspaper reporter Sean Ewart contributed to this story.

Commenting rules:
  1. Stick to the topic of the article/letter/editorial.
  2. When responding to issues raised by other commenters, do not engage in personal attacks or name-calling.
  3. Comments that include profanity/obscenities or are libelous in nature will be removed without warning.
Violators' commenting privileges may be revoked indefinitely. By commenting you agree to our full Terms of Use.
Syracuse Football Tickets Giveaway
Connect with Us
OGD on FacebookOGD on Twitter
Thursday 's Covers