Northern New York Newspapers
NNY Business
NNY Living
Wed., Oct. 7
Serving the community of Ogdensburg, New York
Related Stories

NYSPHSAA playoff capsules



Class C

OFA vs. Saranac Lake

When, where: 7 p.m., tonight, Massena High School.

Outlook: The Blue Devils (8-1) avenged their only loss of the season when they defeated Potsdam 28-26 in overtime in the Section 10 championship game. OFA’s quarterback, Josh Liebstein, has thrown for 626 yards, including 12 touchdowns. He also has 10 rushing touchdowns. Jordan McCormick leads the team in rushing with 789 yards. OFA’s top receivers have been Jon Tayler (21 catches-262 yards) and Nick Sweeney (19-192). ... Saranac Lake (5-4) edged Saranac Central 30-28 in the Section 7 championship game. Quarterback Tristan Fitzgerald has thrown for 879 yards, including 12 touchdowns. His main target has been Dylan Gunther, who has 34 receptions for 377 yards. Lance Ackerson is the team’s leading rusher with 547 yards.

Class D

Tupper Lake vs. Moriah

When, where: 7 p.m., tonight, AuSable Valley High School.

Outlook: The Lumberjacks (4-5) are the only Class D school in Section 10 so they had no playoff games. Quarterback Morgan Stevens has thrown for 1,326 yards, including 17 touchdowns. Jeremy Roussel has rushed for 985 yards. Mitch Keniston is the leading receiver with 37 catches for 622 yards. Cody LaPierre (203 yards) and Roger Delair (197) each have 21 catches. ... Moriah (5-4) edged Ticonderoga 6-0 in the Section 7 title game, with C.J. Raymond scoring the only touchdown on a 48-yard run. Raymond has rushed for 553 yards this season. The team’s leading rusher is Troy Welch, with 797 yards, including 690 int he last five games. Cole Gaddor has thrown for 1,172 yards, including 13 touchdowns. Rainier Garcia leads the team with 22 receptions for 351 yards and Tyler Pratt has caught 20 passes for 473 yards.

Class B

Malone vs. Beekmantown

When, where: 1 p.m., Saturday, AuSable Valley High School.

Outlook: The Huskies (5-4) defeated Gouverneur 27-7 in the Section 10 championship game. Zach Raymond leads the offense with 1,020 yards. He has gained 764 of those yards in the last four games of the season. Raymond also has 14 receptions for 270 yards and has scored 14 total touchdowns. Quarterback Camron Gallagher has passed for 606 yards and six touchdowns, which have all come in the last four weeks. Jordan Yando is the team’s top receiver with 20 receptions for 271 yards. ... Beekmantown (5-4) upset Peru 33-28 in the Section 7 championship game. Quarterback Jacob Remchuk has thrown for 999 yards, including 12 touchdowns, but also has 13 interceptions. The top running backs are Devin Fessette (642 yards) and Justin Stevens (584). Cameron Garceau is the top receiver with 20 catches for 413 yards.



Where: SUNY Canton.

Class C

Brushton-Moira vs. Lake George

When: 5 p.m.

Outlook: The Panthers (4-8-4) upset Norwood-Norfolk 2-0 in the Section 10 championship game. Brushton-Moira has only scored 12 goals this season. The squad’s leading scorer is Alex Burnett, who has four goals. Roland Burke has three goals with two assists and Patrick McKirnan has two goals and two assists. Goalie Taylor Tallman has allowed 17 goals this season. ... Section 2’s Lake George (19-1-1) beat Section 7’s Lake Placid 1-0 in overtime when sophomore defenseman Noah Prime scored his first career goal on a corner kick in the 86th minute. The Warriors top offensive player is Craig Keenan, with 28 goals. John Diego has scored nine and Ian Quillinan has six goals and 16 assists. Lake George goalie Jeff Naftaly made five saves for the shutout on Wednesday.

Class B

Canton vs. Ichabod Crane

When: 6:45 p.m.

Outlook: The Golden Bears (14-3-1) knocked off top-seeded Ogdensburg Free Academy 2-0 in the Section 10 championship game. Canton’s top offensive player is Jake Facey, with 10 goals and four assists. Josh Huiatt has scored nine goals with one assist and Matt Mende has six goals and seven assists. Goalie Scott Wight has 11 shutouts and the team has given up only 10 goals. ... Section 2’s Ichabod Crane (20-0) knocked off Section 7’s Beekmantown 2-0 on Wednesday. The Riders have outscored their opponents 110-5 this season. Seth Scarano leads the team with 31 goals and 24 assists and Heriberto Gomez has 20 goals. Neither player scored Wednesday as the Riders were led by Diego Lezema, who scored both goals to increase his season total to eight. Goalie Pierce Reilly made five saves for the shutout.


When, where: Saturday, Queensbury HS


Class C (9 a.m.)

Team: Gouverneur (Jake Erdman, Luke Dunkelberg, Fred Nentwick, Dan Sweet, Mark Dunkelberg, Devin Breckenridge, Matt Shippee-Monica)

Individuals: Donovan Smith (OFA), Darren Ricalton (Canton), Ben Miller (Potsdam), Joe Grizzuto (OFA), Nick Vielhauer (OFA).

Class D (9:25 a.m.)

Team: Norwood-Norfolk (Kyle Fulk, Adam Saucier, Deven Grant, Gage Orologio, Connor Levison, Ben Gushlaw, Tyler Harder).

Individuals: Anson Gagnier (Tupper Lake), Broyce Guerette (TL), Daniel Shaheen (TL), Elliot Fletcher (TL), Tyler Nimz (Brushton-Moira).

Class B (10:15 a.m.)

Team:Malone (Mitchell Marlow, Will Bronner, Dylan LaVoie, Ryan Tober, Joe Tracy, Curtis Landry, Josh Bordeaux).

Individuals: Brandon LaVoie (Malone), Bach Schanck (Malone), Zach Davis (Malone), Jamiel Stapleton (Malone), Tom Garland (Malone).


Class C (10:40 a.m.)

Team: Canton (Laura Pierce, Maria Ricalton, Rebecca DelRossi, Gemma DelRossi, Carly Whiteford, Claire Bartlett, Cassidy Scott).

Individuals: Margeaux Simmons (Gouverneur), Gabby Dunkleberg (Gouverneur), Kurstyn Macaulay (OFA), Madie Dow (Potsdam), Marie Amell (Potsdam).

Class D (11:10 a.m.)

Team: Norwood-Norfolk (Kaycie Saucier, Hannah Gray, Leah Livernois, Skylar Fetter, Natasha Dominique, Maddie Stewart, Brooke Newton).

Individuals: Tess Klossner (Tupper Lake), Carly Taylor (Brushton-Moira), Alexis Snyder (Brushton-Moira), Ari Bishop (Tupper Lake), Veronica Stauffer (Brushton-Moira).

Class B (12:10 p.m.)

Team: Malone (Carrie Pomainville, Emily Pomainville, Bekkah Bond, Madeline Champagne, Morgan Bronner, Rinn Schanck, Sarah-Margaret Cowart).

Individuals: Jackie Miller (South Jefferson), Morgan Yando (Malone), Brooke Bronner (Malone), Annika Campbell (Malone), Alissa McCauley (Malone), Karlee Martin (Malone).

Commenting rules:
  1. Stick to the topic of the article/letter/editorial.
  2. When responding to issues raised by other commenters, do not engage in personal attacks or name-calling.
  3. Comments that include profanity/obscenities or are libelous in nature will be removed without warning.
Violators' commenting privileges may be revoked indefinitely. By commenting you agree to our full Terms of Use.
Syracuse Football Tickets Giveaway
Connect with Us
OGD on FacebookOGD on Twitter