Northern New York Newspapers
NNY Business
NNY Living
Sun., Oct. 4
Serving the community of Ogdensburg, New York
Related Stories

OFA Track-Field teams honored


The term outstanding student-athlete might be a bit overused but it applies perfectly to the record of OFA’s Indoor Track-Field teams.

The Blue Devil squads combined to produce New York State Student-Athlete teams with a combined 43 members.

The teams’ scholastic and athletic achievements were honored by Coaches John Tebo, Diane Jeneault and Chris McRoberts and track-field helpers Mike Miller and Anna Lawrence on Wednesday in a combined awards banquet at the Ogdensburg Elks Club.

The OFA Boys were also recognized for one of the best athletic and academic seasons in school history as they took first place in every Northern Conference meet and claimed the Section 10 Championship for the first time since 2008.

“We knew we had a good chance to win the title which Malone has controlled for several years. The guys worked hard every day and went out got it done,” said Coach Tebo.

“If we ever have a Hall of Fame at OFA and I would definitely nominate this team.”

Coach Jeneault cited her team for steady improvement throughout the ranks and for coachability.

Both coaches recognized their squads for excellent team chemistry.

The awards ceremony began with recognizing seniors: Vinnie Molinari, Seth Montppelier, Taylor Bouchard, Seth Tebo, Donnie Berry, Donnie Smith, Taylor Bouchard, Sam King, Charlotte Miller, Maci Hutchins, Shauna Rickett, Kurstyn Macaulay and Kayla Tolman.

Coach Tebo presented his team awards to Section 10 Running MVP Donnie Smith - Pat Barr Memorial Award, Jake Sias - Coaches Award, Owen Pearson - Most Improved Performer and Sebastian Quintilliani - Most Valuable Performer.

Coach Jeneault presented her team awards to: Kurstyn Macaulay - Most Valuable Performer, Charlotte Miller - Coaches Award, Sarah Miller - Outstanding Work Ethic and Maci Hutchins - Most Improved Performer.

The Girls NYS Scholar-Athlete Team was composed of: Kurstyn Macaulay, Shelby Mack, Charlotte Miller, Sarah Richer, Melissa Jones, Samantha Rishe, Breanna Hacia, Alyssa LaComb-Brown, Harley Rubin, Sara Mitchell, Zoey Bishop, Claudia Dufore, Zhou Yzahou, Ellen Miller, Camille Marshall, Zoe Martin, Sara Marx, Shauna Rickett, Claudia Parr, Macy Hutchins and Hannah Berg.

The Boys Scholar-Athlete Team was composed of Seth Tebo, Michael Mallott, Alex Sias, Martin Arquitt, Seth Montpelier, Donnie Smith, Ben Hammond, Dominic Bouchard, Vinnie Molinari, Taylor Richardson, Owen Pearson, Donnie Berry, Taylor Bouchard, Nick Vielhauer, Sebastian Quintilliani, Nate Stowe, Skyler Martin, Ryan Bouchard, Daniel Beyette, Collin Sovie, Jordan Miller and Garrett Dennis.

Additional NAC All-Academic Awards went to Tim Spearance, Chyanne Brown and Chelsea Montroy.

Commenting rules:
  1. Stick to the topic of the article/letter/editorial.
  2. When responding to issues raised by other commenters, do not engage in personal attacks or name-calling.
  3. Comments that include profanity/obscenities or are libelous in nature will be removed without warning.
Violators' commenting privileges may be revoked indefinitely. By commenting you agree to our full Terms of Use.
Syracuse Football Tickets Giveaway
Connect with Us
OGD on FacebookOGD on Twitter