Northern New York Newspapers
NNY Business
NNY Living
Fri., Oct. 9
Serving the community of Ogdensburg, New York
Related Stories

Maples Sweep Jim Pin kerton Tournament



The seeds to continue a longtime high school baseball rivalry produced a split for Ogdensburg and Malone as the 2014 Jim Pinkerton Memorial Baseball Tournament concluded on Sunday at the Cliff Montroy Youth Athletic Complex.

The Ogdensburg Maples took the 10U Division title with a 9-4 win over Malone and the Malone Americans downed the Maples 7-1 for 12U Division honors.

“Seeing that Ogdensburg and Malone played for both division titles tells you that baseball in both communities should continue to be strong in the years ahead,” said Tournament Director John Free.

The first ever Girls 12U Softball Division title of the Jim Pinkerton Tournament went to the Hammond Crush which pulled away from Gouverneur 24-9.


The 10U Baseball Championship game ended with Corbin Durham striking out the side with the bases loaded to preserve a 9-4 victory for the Maples over Malone.

Durham was also honored as the Offensive Player of the Tournament and combined to pitch the win with Braeden Free who was recognized as the Most Outstanding Player. Justin Kennedy of Malone was cited as the Outstanding Defensive Player.

Also contributing to the Maples first place finish were Aaron Ellis, Adam Calton, Cooper Bennett, Tanner Ritchie, Hugh Colburn, Kelson Hooper and Tristan Lovely.

Also contributing for Malone were: Conner Lewis, pat Poupore, Jarrett Andrews, Nathan Mayville, Chase Lewis, Keegan Monette Gage Cromp, Harrison Hungerford, Gavin Avery and Owen Gray.


The Malone Americans captured the 12U Championship in a 7-1 victory where three pitchers on each team combined to allow a total of just five hits.

Malone used a triple by Jonah McDonald and a double by Jacob Reville to capitalize on walks and score five runs in the fourth and fifth innings.

The Maples lone run came on a sixth inning homerun by Bryce Lake.

The locals’ only other hits in the game were singles by Connor Griffith and Nathan Jewitt.

Malone reached the finals with a victory over Lisbon and the Maples advanced with a win over Massena.

Jake VanSteenberg of Malone was named the Most Outstanding Player of the Tournament and teammate Braydon Bariko was recognized as the Outstanding Defensive Player.

The Maples’ Hayden Ives was cited as the Outstanding Offensive player.

Other members of the Maples’ squad which was coached by John Free and Ryan Griffith were: Bailey Benware, Mesean Johnson, Brennan Harmer, Braeden Free, Gavin Barney, Jake Sharpe, Jackson Jones, Michael Reed and Hayden Ives.

Rounding out Malone championship roster, which was coached by Shaun Reville and Casey Cartier were: Brendon Soulia, Cameron Cartier, Ansen Weagers, Riley Leary, Jed McDonald, Thomas Trombley and Hayden Perkins.



The Hammond Crush, coached by Cory Tanner, Brian Tanner and Dionne Villalobos, opened a 17-3 lead and then answered a comeback by Gouverneur to secure a 24-9 championship wins in the first Jim Pinkerton U12 Girls Softball Tournament.

“I saw every inning of this tournament and I saw every team improve a great deal,” said Wes McDonald who directed the tournament with Chris Showers.

Hammond’s Morgan Macaulay was honored as the Tournament’s MVP for her outstanding hitting and she was joined on the All-Tournament Team by Hammond catcher Kelsey Bennett, the Gouverneur duo Ellen Baer at thirdbase and pitcher-outfielder-infielder Laney Smith, Heuvelton catcher Emily Streeter and Ogdensburg’s Sierra LaFlair who rapped six homeruns on the weekend.

Macaulay enjoyed a big game at the plate in the championship game after doubling home Alivia Crosby with the winning run in a 25-24 seven-inning semi-final win over Ogdensburg.

Mariana Villolbos and Bennett rapped homeruns in the championship game and Taylor Arquitt and Hannah Tanner combined to pitch the win. Grace Cummings and Marina Wood led the offense for Gouverneur which advanced in a 9-5 semi-final victory over Heuvelton.

Rounding Hammond’s championship team were Sidney Johnson, Savannah Rathbun and Jaylene Dawley.

Also contributing well to Gouverneur’s trip to the finals were: Shea-Marie Mussaw, Jade McIntosh, Ellen Baer, Hillary Cook, Carly Lumley, Peyton Mussaw and Elaina Lumley. Gouverneur is coached by Ed Smith and Joel Baer.

Commenting rules:
  1. Stick to the topic of the article/letter/editorial.
  2. When responding to issues raised by other commenters, do not engage in personal attacks or name-calling.
  3. Comments that include profanity/obscenities or are libelous in nature will be removed without warning.
Violators' commenting privileges may be revoked indefinitely. By commenting you agree to our full Terms of Use.
Syracuse Football Tickets Giveaway
Connect with Us
OGD on FacebookOGD on Twitter