Northern New York Newspapers
NNY Business
NNY Living
Sun., Oct. 4
Serving the community of Ogdensburg, New York
Related Stories

Eight St. Lawrence County residents graduate from state police academy


ALBANY - Governor Andrew M. Cuomo congratulated 168 new members of the New York State Police at the 201st session graduation ceremony from the Basic School of the New York State Police Academy in Albany.

The new state troopers will report for duty beginning July 24 to posts throughout the state.

“These new members of the New York State Police will serve one of the most prestigious and challenging roles in society as law enforcement personnel,” said Governor Cuomo.

“Their sharpened talents will be put to use in keeping every corner of New York safe, as they are now prepared to protect the people of this state through times of uncertainty and distress. On behalf of every New Yorker, I extend my gratitude to the New York State Police and offer my congratulations to today’s graduating troopers and their families.”

New York State Police Superintendent Joseph A. D’Amico​ said, “After 26 weeks of difficult classwork and training, the 201st Basic School will continue the fine tradition of the state police members that have come before them. This graduation ceremony is the culmination of the hard work you have shown over the past six months. It is also a testament to your continued dedication, as you waited years before your name was called to join the long gray line. I congratulate all of our new members and wish you luck as you start your career.”

In addition to honoring all graduates from the 201st Session of Basic School, Superintendent D’Amico presented the following awards:

• The winner of the Academic Performance Award was Trooper Eric M. Courcelle, 29, of Albany. Throughout the Academy training program, he achieved an outstanding overall academic average of 97.48 percent. He will be assigned to Troop B.

• The winner of the Superintendent’s Firearms Proficiency Award is Trooper Joshua J. Hunter, 30, of Ogdensburg. During firearms training, he fired an average score of 250 out of a possible 250. He will be assigned to Troop B.

Among the new troopers are nine St. Lawrence County residents and two residents from northern Franklin County.

They include:

Martin O. Baker, Burke

Sarah Casey, Potsdam

Daniel N. Haley, Massena

Joshua J. Hunter, Ogdensburg

Joseph R. Knox, Russell

Raymond C. Mead III, Massena

Rexford C. Reynolds IV, Hammond

Amanda L. Roi, Norwood

Adam D. Southworth, North Bangor

William L. Tulley, Hammond

Mark C. Tyler, Gouverneur

The new troopers have all been assigned to Troop B, Ray Brook.

Commenting rules:
  1. Stick to the topic of the article/letter/editorial.
  2. When responding to issues raised by other commenters, do not engage in personal attacks or name-calling.
  3. Comments that include profanity/obscenities or are libelous in nature will be removed without warning.
Violators' commenting privileges may be revoked indefinitely. By commenting you agree to our full Terms of Use.
Syracuse Football Tickets Giveaway
Connect with Us
OGD on FacebookOGD on Twitter